Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.


31 August, 2020

A wet track did not deter the riders

Race Two of the LDI Constructions Cairns Cycling Club Criterium was held under overcast skies on Sunday.

By Peter McCullagh

With a fairly greasy and wet track, riders still pushed hard over the one kilometre road course in Bungalow.

Men’s A Grade featured strong performance from Brian Nesbit as well as Thomas Beddome and Josh Rayner with Nesbitt finishing first in the race as well as leading the LDI Constructions Criterium point score from the first two events.

The Women’s A Grade was a tussle between Megan Pickford (1st) and Petra Anderson (2nd) with Anderson leading the LDI Constructions Criterium point score after two events.

Women’s B Grade continues to be dominated by Terri Sullivan, 11 point clear of nearest rival Colleen Harisson who did not race over the weekend and Sam Weterkamp who continued to score well finishing the days racing in second place.

Consistency is proving to be a good thing for Greg Hutton in the Men’s B Grade, finishing second on the day but leading in the overall LDI Constructions Criterium point score. Adam Johnstone finished the event in first place however did not race in event 1 last week.

C Grade featured once again strong racing with Malcolm Lindsay (1st and Ricky Groth (2nd) and Lindsay taking a 12 point lead on the overall points table.

Michael Etherington in D Grade won the sprint and finished 3rd overall to take a handy 5 point lead over Chris Atkins who finished the day 2rd overall.

You could throw a blanket over the Junior pack with 4 riders featuring strongly and a handful of points separating the riders.

Liam Scott and Rone Thompson are tied in 1st place overall, Verety Pickford 2ndand Chloe Buckley 3rd.

The LDI Constructions Criterium features 4 race weekends, interested spectators are invited to visit the Cairns Cycling Club Facebook page for details on the event.

Day 2 Results

A Grade

  1. Brian Nesbit
  2. Thomas Beddome 
  3.  Alex Starmer

B Grade

  1. Adam Johnstone 
  2. Greg Hutton
  3. Gavin Scott

C Grade 

  1. Mal Lindsay
  2. Ricky Groth
  3. Don Huyser 

D Grade

  1. Quinton Ullrich
  2. Chris Atkins 
  3. Michael Etherington


  1. Megan Pickford
  2. Petra Anderson
  3. Bianca Grillo


  1. Liam Scott 
  2. Rone Thompson
  3. Verety Pickford  

Keep up-to-date. You can read our on-line edition FREE - No Subscription required:

Most Popular