Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.

Latest News

18 June, 2021

Cassowary Coast Regional Council by-election officially called

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) said there will be a July by-election to elect a councillor for Cassowary Coast Regional Council’s Division 6 following the resignation of Councillor Kylie Farinelli on 1 June.

Commissioner Pat Vidgen said Cr Farinelli’s resignation occurred in the middle of the local government’s term requiring a by-election to fill the vacancy in accordance with the Local Government Act.

 "Candidate nominations are now open, and anyone interested in nominating should do so well before the deadline of noon on Monday 28 June.

 “Nomination forms are available on the ECQ website or from the Returning Officer, and a deposit of $250 must also be paid at the time of nomination.

 “Candidates have several important tasks to undertake when nominating including opening a dedicated campaign bank account, preparing to declare their personal interests, and completing the free online training module available on the Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning’s website.”

 Mr Vidgen said the around 3,400 electors in Division 6 have the choice to vote early, vote on election day, or postal vote.

“Early voting will be available at the Innisfail Shire Hall, 70 Rankin Street, between 9am and 6pm from Monday 12 July to Friday 16 July.

 “Election day voting will take place at the Innisfail East State School and Mourilyan State School between 8am and 6pm on Saturday 17 July.

 “Postal vote applications are open now and close on Monday 5 July.

 “Anyone wishing to postal vote should apply via the ECQ website as soon as possible so ballot materials can be sent promptly following the close of nominations and ballot paper order draw on Monday 28 June.”

 Mr Vidgen said there’s still time to enrol to vote or update enrolment details at before the roll closes at 5pm on Thursday 24 June.

 “Enrolling or checking your enrolment is easy online and only takes a few minutes.

 “Voting is one of the most important civic duties we can undertake in a democracy, and I remind electors enrolling and voting is compulsory at all levels of government in Queensland.”

 The voting system for the Cassowary Coast by-election is optional preferential as determined by the Local Government Electoral Act 2011.

 For all election information including nomination forms and requirements, go to

Election Milestone Date
Notice of Election Friday 18 June 2021
Postal vote applications Open on Friday 18 June 2021- Close at 7pm on Monday 5 July 2021
Close of roll 5pm on Thursday 24 June 2021
Close of nominations Noon on Monday 28 June 2021
Ballot paper order draw 2:30pm on Monday 28 June 2021
Early voting 9am to 5pm from Monday 12 July to Thursday 15 July and 9am to 6pm on Friday 16 July 2021
Election day 8am to 6pm on Saturday 17 July
Deadline for the return of postal votes 5pm on Tuesday 27 July 2021

Most Popular